Looking for a special gift? Buy a print of this image.

    Smeaton’s Lighthouse under construction on the Eddystone Rocks

    Date
    1786
    Creator
    James Record (British) , Engraver
    Object type
    Library reference
    R63812
    Material
    Technique
    Dimensions
    height (print): 500mm
    width (print): 325mm
    Subject
    Content object
    Description
    Depiction of the third lighthouse built upon the Eddystone Rocks, near Plymouth.

    The third lighthouse was built following the destruction of earlier versions designed by Henry Winstanley (1644-1703), and John Rudyard (or Rudyerd; 1650- ca.1718). The Royal Society recommended the civil engineer John Smeaton (1724-1792) for the job; his lighthouse was completed in 1759.

    Plate 14 of A narrative of the building and a description of the construction of the Edystone lighthouse with stone, by John Smeaton (London, 1791). The Royal Society’s copy was donated by the author on 20 January 1791.

    The plate is inscribed: ‘A View of the ROCK on the EAST SIDE, and of the WORK advanced to course XV, being the first of the ENTRY COURSES, Shewing the manner of LANDING and HOISTING the STONES etc in every stage of the BUILDING.’

    Includes scale: 1 inch = 6 feet
    Object history
    The lighthouse remained in use until 1877, and was then re-erected on Plymouth Hoe, where it still stands as a tourist attraction. It can be seen in the background in the Royal Society’s two portraits of John Smeaton.
    Associated place
    <The World>
       > Europe
          > United Kingdom
    Credit
    © The Royal Society
    Image number
    RS.10382
    Powered by CollectionsIndex+/CollectionsOnline